Return to Boracay: Cliff Diving at Ariel’s Point

DSC02909_1_wm

Goodbye, cruel world! XD

If there was one thing that I regretted during my first visit to Boracay last 2011, is that I didn’t research enough to know about the famous party place hidden away from Boracay’s busy white beach, Ariel’s Point. Today, visiting Ariel’s Point stands at  #1 on TripAdvisor’s Top Things To Do in Boracay. Is it only hype? Or is it the real deal? We’re about to find out.

Here’s an excerpt on Ariel’s Point’s website on how to get there:

Trips to Ariel’s Point depart daily at 11:30 a.m. from Ariel’s House, which is located along Boracay’s main White Beach near Station 1 between Club Paraw and the Obama Grill.  At the current time, tickets for Ariel’s Point can only be purchased through the Boracay Beach Club (just across the main road from Ariel’s House in Station 1).  You can reach Ariel’s House and the Boracay Beach Club by walking along White Beach (about a 10 minute walk from D’Mall) or hiring a tricycle and asking them to bring you to the Boracay Beach Club in Station 1.  

For more information about reservation and how to contact them, visit their website HERE.

DSC02960_1_wm

After the grueling Flyfish activity we had at Bulabog Beach, we turned our attention on that day’s big activity: a visit to Ariel’s Point. But way before that (even before we went for the parasailing and flyfish), I settled our reservations first with Nino. Although you can directly book your slots at Boracay Beach Club (located at Station 1), we coursed through our fees through Nino, who is also an authorized middle-man for Ariel’s Point. At Php1,600.00/head, we paid no extra fee for the reservation we made. And that’s great, since we were paying basically the same price and at the same time, Nino gets to earn commission. Win-win for both sides. Make sure you make your reservations early (not later than 9am on the day of visit) since there are only limited slots.

You will get wet

Boat ride going to Ariel’s Point

The boat ride from white beach to Ariel’s Point took about an hour, and since we were still feeling very tired from the Flyfish, it wasn’t that hard to fall asleep during the ride. Good thing flowing drinks (rum, cola and rum cola) are being served during the duration of the trip.

DSC09685_1_wm

Tired as Eff

DSC02924_1_wm

Ballin’!

We arrived at Ariel’s Point by 1pm. The weather wasn’t very good that day as the sun was barely visible and the waves were a bit rough. See that small cave opening right there? Yup, that’s the gateway to Ariel’s Point. I must warn you though that you will GET WET. So don’t be bringing your luggage or wearing your favorite shoes and denim jeans just because you weren’t planning on cliff-diving. Wear your normal beach clothes and secure your electronic gadgets. As for myself, I brought my trusty Sea to Summit dry sack and a couple of ziplocs to secure my phones and cameras.

DSC09698_1_wm~01

Told ya you'll get wet

Told ya you’ll get wet

Upon arriving at Ariel’s Point, you’ll immediately feel the “party vibe” going on at the place. The place just reeks of fun! Since the first batch of guests arrived earlier than us, we had to take the seats at the top hill, near the 15-meter jump board. Good thing the buffet table was literally just around the corner. 😀

Party atmosphere

Party atmosphere

DSC02906_1_wm

DSC09722_1_wm

Lifeguards are always in position to assist divers. Good thing.

Since the food wasn’t ready yet when we arrived, I figured to take some snaps around the area and of tourists having their early dose of adrenaline. 

DSC02976_1_wm

As an auditor, the inherent risk is strong on this one

DSC09724_1_wm~01

Unlimited booze = unlimited confidence boost

Blogger’s Note: If you found this blog helpful and would like to support me in any way you can, head over to Zalora PH! Being a newly appointed Zalora Brand Ambassador, I’m sharing to you a 15% discount voucher code which you can use on your first purchase at Zalora. Just use the voucher code ZBAPZGWV upon checkout and the price-off will automatically be deducted from your total checkout amount. Cool, right?! Thank you very much for the support and keep on reading!

The food was served at around 2pm. A bit late, considering that we were very tired and hungry with all the things we did to our body a little earlier.

The food was a pretty standard barbecue affair consisting of grilled pork, chorizo, bihon, grilled chicken, buttered potatoes, shrimps and lots of bananas. While the food was average in general, I found the grilled pork very delicious. That and maybe the starvation was getting the better out of my taste buds. Oh, the unlimited rum cola is still on the menu.

DSC09725_1_wm~01

Eating like a pirate

Feeling very stuffed, Kevin and I wandered to the other side of the islet to consume some time before going for the jumping boards. Let the photo-taking ensue.

DSC02915_1_wm~01

DSC02917_1_wm

DSC02925_1_wm~01

The waves were just very rough that day

DSC02955_3_wm

My infamous martial arts kick jump-shot. Hehe.

DSC02962_1_wm

5-meter diving plank

Ariels’ Point have 3 diving planks. The easiest one is the one with the 5-meter height, the other is an 8-meter dive and the grandaddy was the very high 15-meter dive. Even though I’m usually very game with adrenaline pumping stuff, I found the cliff diving a bit over the top. That meant that I passed out from jumping from any of the planks, including the easiest of the bunch, the 5-meter jump. Looking at the brighter side, who would have taken these gorgeous photos if I decided to join the jumping game, eh? Maybe next time. Maybe. 😦

DSC02904_1_wm~01

The diving board to overcome

After Kevin and Vincent managed to warm-up by doing the 5-meter and 8-meter jumps twice, it was now time for the boys to take on the big one: the 15-meter jump of doom.

DSC02983_1_wm

Are you sure about this?

While it may not look very intimidating on photo, it really is a very intimidating sight once you personally see the height of the jump. And even more so when you see tourists jumping. We found that the most active jumpers out of the group were the Americans. I think they might have drank too much rum. Haha.

DSC02990_1_wm~01

Kevin hit the oceans butt-first. OUCH!

DSC02986_1_wm~01

You have your Air Jordans. Well I raise you Air Gasmin.

Photos won’t really do justice to their 15-meter jumps, so here are videos for you to enjoy!

DSC02991_1_wm~01

Group shot before leaving the islet

By 3:30pm, the crew was already advising tourists to return to the boats for the ride back to white beach. Why too early? They probably didn’t want to mess with the big waves, not with the kind of weather that day.

Other tourists who weren’t able to jump yet (and who were now drunk by that time) took advantage of the last call and went jumping for the fences. Unfortunately, I wasn’t even remotely drunk by then so jumping was still out of the question. Sorry guys.

DSC09754_1_wm

We’ll meet again, Ariel’s Point. Yes we will.

Though there’s a little regret leaving Ariel’s Point without doing the cliff-diving experience, I’m glad I was able to visit the place. Even though I didn’t utilize the diving facilities, the admission fee was still worth it. The unlimited drinks, buffet lunch and the fun, party atmosphere was more than enough to enjoy the place and each other’s company. I’ll be back here for sure, though I still can’t promise to take the plunge. Haha. -rod-

For more Boracay reads, check out some of my posts below: 

Return to Boracay: Parasailing and Flyfish

Return to Boracay: How to Get to White Beach from Kalibo

Boracay 2011 (Part 1)

Boracay 2011 (Part 2)

30 comments

  1. Great post, Rod. You really are the Boracay expert. I’ll be back in the Phils for a few weeks over Xmas and New Year and I’m going to try to get to Boracay for New Year. This looks like a fun side trip. But how long did it take to get there? It looks like that bit of your blog got cut by accident (there’s a “b” —“The boat ride from white beach to Ariel’s Point tookb, and…”). I’m guessing it’s 1.5 hours, assuming they leave at 11:30? That’s quite a trek. But the party vibe sounds worth the trip, and there will be a group of us. I’ll definitely consider it. Anyway, great post!

    Like

    1. Oh, didn’t notice the error. It should be “took about an hour”. Will edit when I open my laptop. You’ll enjoy more when you’re in groups. Make sure to make them tipsy as hilarity will surely ensue. 😀

      Like

  2. My cousin and I wanted to try this the last time we went there but we’re both girls and our parents would likely be angry if they knew we went there! Lol! But I will definitely try this the next time I visit Boracay!

    Like

  3. hi, i would like to ask I can only purchase the ticket to ariel’s point from boracay beach club? Caz i went to the website and it shown the price had increase to 2000php, so i was wondering will it be cheaper if i purchase the ticket from nino/ron? It would be great if u can provide me email add to contact them. Thanks!

    Like

  4. Hi rod,

    I’ve found your blog very informative and i plan to buy a sony rx100 m2 and your blog convince me more that the rx100 is a very good travel camera for our trip my with wife to puerto princesa coron and el nido early next month.

    i just want to ask in your snapshots (like when your in the water or on the boat especially the article in parasailing) , or when you take your photos in these conditions did you have a special protection for your camera from splashes or seawater?

    or did you just make sure your hands are dry and wipe the lens whenever sprayed with seawater from waves and winds?

    hehe, i just want to make sure id get the most of the camera and quality pictures while on a boat ride.

    Like

    1. Hi Ramel. First off, thanks for finding my blog informative.

      As to your question, while I don’t have a weatherproof housing for my RX100, I do have a screen protector to save the screen from scratches (especially for sand particles while on the beach) and a leather case (which I bought from the Sony Centre). I also make sure that I have dry hands while shooting.

      Advance congratulations on your new RX100 II. I honestly would’ve preferred it if I didn’t have the 1st gen just because of the wi-fi and NFC capabilities. The tilting screen is just a plus. Enjoy your Palawan trip. 🙂

      Like

  5. Do they have someone assigned to take photos of the divers? I’d never do this myself so it’s fun to see other people do it instead 🙂

    Like

    1. I think you can request some of the non-busy staff to take your photos. But since I didn’t jump, I took all these photos of my friends at Ariel’s Point by myself. 🙂

      Like

  6. Hi rod,

    Thanks for giving a lot of information about boracay. I’m flying to boracay today. Just want to know, do you try the 15m jump? How does it feel? I’m thinking to try it, for myself at least once in a lifetime. Haha

    Like

      1. Hi rod, just landed at kalibo. So it will only take P200 at jetty port right? i paid the southwest bus for P250 to caticlan only. I try to follow your instruction in your other post. They offer P600 (van/bus, boat, and drop off at hotel). Anyway do you have any instant messaging?

        Like

  7. hi rod, i really want to try this cliff diving when i go to bora this year, but i dont know how to swim. will i be allowed to cliff dive?

    Like

    1. Hi Lea. Cliff Diving is an extreme water activity so swimming skills do come very handy. Although there are lifeguards at the bottom of the cliff, you’re still gonna need to swim to get to them due to the strong impact of the dive. Ariel’s Point do not provide life vests to cliff divers so it is assumed that divers are capable swimmers. For your safety, I strongly recommend for you to learn basic swimming before delving into cliff diving. Hope this helps.

      Like

Leave a Reply

